A month already?

Standard

I can’t believe my baby girl is a month old already. Have I really been staring at her for that long already? It feels like we just brought her home. It feels like I just had her. She is still so new.

So how do you celebrate 1 month? For us it was getting shots. She had to get her second HepB vaccination and daddy and I both got the Pertussis vaccination (whooping cough). She did really well with hers and we found out that my breastfeeding is apparently going better than I thought. She went from 7 pounds 6 ounces at two weeks to 8 pounds 15 ounces at one month! Breastfeeding has been a little difficult lately. Between sporadic feedings not knowing when she was going to be hungry again and pretty much feeding constantly I worried she wasn’t getting enough from me. So the appointment definitely gave me some much needed reassurance.

We spent the afternoon dressing her up in cute frilly dresses and a onesie that said “1 Month” on it. I have a much deeper respect for child photographers I’ll tell you that much! Taking random pictures here and there has been fine but try to pose a baby on a pillow with a stuffed animal and expect her to cooperate, I dare you. I must have taken like a hundred pictures. I got about a dozen good ones out of all those. The other outtakes of her crying and throwing a fit I plan to save as torment for when she’s older. 🙂

Happy 1 month baby. Things are already moving so fast I have a feeling that I’ll be seeing you off to college before I know it. Don’t grow up too fast. I want to relish in every second of it for as long as I can. You are truly a miracle and I can’t picture what life was before you came. Though I vaguely remember getting more sleep at night, I would live sleepless forever to stare at you. I love you so much.

About stephrader

I am a new mom who went from managing a fast paced legal office to the 24/7 lifestyle of a stay-at-home-mom. I am inspired by everything and writing has always been my outlet. I love that each day offers something new, exciting, breathtaking, philosophical, tasty, funny and yes, sometimes even sad. Check out my blog 'The Write Side of Life'.

Leave a Reply

