Big Girl Pants

Standard

Mommy’s big girl…My little Adri used her last newborn diaper tonight and graduated to Size 1’s. It’s a small moment on the scale of “moments” but it still affected me. I’m a terrible hoarder of anything sentimental and as a hoarder one usually finds sentimental reasons to keep just about everything. But, obviously, I can’t really preserve this though. (No, even I don’t have it that bad). So to satisfy my sentimental hoarding I’m just going to binge sniffs of fresh-out-of-the-bath baby tonight. Seriously, is there a better smell in this world? Better enjoy it while I can because she’s already growing so fast.

When you stop to think about it, babies hit a new milestone in growing every day and every day comes and ends so fast that no wonder i’m feeling like time is going by too fast. Before I know it she’ll be driving. Oh God. That’s enough to send me into a panic attack.

She has such a good personality. Earlier she laughed and let me take some pictures and was so cute. They say now is when you can start to get a feel for the type of personality they have. I am hoping this is a good sign that she is a happy baby and even seems to be a bit playful already.

I don’t know how I’m supposed to ever be a strong woman again in my life when any little thing she does (is magic…no, just kidding) can bring me to tears. I guess I’m going to have to graduate to big girl pants too if I’m ever going to be a normal adult again and not a weepy wishy washy mess. I haven’t really interacted with much of the outside world since she was born. Not that I mind. As fast as she’s growing I think I’d actually prefer to just stay locked up with my baby and relish her new baby smell as long as possible. Being a “normal adult” is overrated anyway.

Ah yes, and back to that bath time new baby smell. Seriously, I know I’ve heard people talk about that new baby smell. I always just figured it was like that “new car smell” or that “new puppy smell”. I now know it’s much more than that. The “new baby smell” is by far the most amazing thing I’ve ever encountered…and I’m a bit of a perfume fanatic so I know what good smells are like. But nothing prepared me for this. It’s amazing. I could sit and smell her for the rest of my life as she lays sleeping on my chest in her new bigger size 1 diapers totally unaware how consumed I am with everything about her. *Sigh*

About stephrader

I am a new mom who went from managing a fast paced legal office to the 24/7 lifestyle of a stay-at-home-mom. I am inspired by everything and writing has always been my outlet. I love that each day offers something new, exciting, breathtaking, philosophical, tasty, funny and yes, sometimes even sad. Check out my blog 'The Write Side of Life'.

Leave a Reply

