Daylight Savings Time

Standard

Daylight Savings Time. Fall back and spring forward. It’s “spring forward” time. A time of the year I used to hate for one simple fact: I lose an hour of sleep. Bollocks! I’ve mentioned how much I love sleep. In the fall when we gained an hour was when I always felt like I was on the right schedule. Until spring in all her glory rolled around making us all eager for summer and flowers and sunshine but then stealing an hour of my sleep! She’s a sneaky bitch.

Then I realized this year is going to be a little different. I’m not getting any sleep anymore anyway so longer daylight hours and shorter nights might actually be better. Now instead of it being dark early and just making me tired earlier it’ll be light later and making me feel better about being up so late. It’ll make not getting any sleep a little easier.

Or at least I thought I wasn’t going to get any sleep anymore. I feel almost guilty saying this and as I type it I’m hunkered down hiding and hoping a gang of sleep deprived ninjas don’t bust in but for the past three nights I’ve gotten at least four hours of straight sleep! Last night and the night before it was actually FIVE!!  (This is the part where the angel choir sings hallelujah!)

This little angel has been staying up pretty late in the evenings interacting and then sleeping a good stretch overnight. The first night she slept from 4:30 to 9:00 am. But since I have to get her up and ready at 6:00 am on the mornings I work I prayed that she would bring her schedule up a bit. The next night she did just that. She slept from 1:30 to 6:00 and woke just as happy as could be. This morning we both woke up as happy as could be. Last night my little tulip stayed up the entire night until 1:30 – 2:00 and then slept until 7:00 this morning! So we get more interaction and play time in the evening followed by a  few uninterrupted hours of pure, sweet, oh-how-i’ve-missed-you sleep?Amen!

At first we worried that maybe it was just because of her shots that she’s sleeping more during the night but now I’m praying maybe this is just my little reward for only having a couple hours at a time for the past two months. Could it be that simple? Two months and all of a sudden Bam!  Could it be because we moved her into the portable crib and introduced a real nighttime atmosphere? I’m not going to question it too much. It may not seem like much but it’s huge in the baby world and I’ll take whatever I can get and be happy with it.

Either way, it’s kind of ironic that when I’m supposed to be sitting here pissed about losing an hour of sleep I’m actually singing overjoyed about gaining sleep. Daylight Savings Time? Bring it on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

