Mommy’s Big “Guh”

Standard

My daughter rolled over twice yesterday! Twice!! She’s only two months old and she rolled over twice! That’s huge! It’s amazing!… It only sucks I wasn’t there to see it. She is getting so big.

My heart swells with so much pride at all of her little developmental milestones. She’s been talking up a storm lately. Baby talk that is. “Guh” is her favorite word so far. She says it a lot when it’s play time and when she’ s on her activity mat looking in the mirror so I say it’s the “guh” in the mirror. “Where is the guh in the mirror?“. She loves it. She pushes herself up when she’s on her belly and can hold her head steady and look around at everything while she does it.  We watched her notice her hands for the first time last week too. She reaches out to something and then stops and brings her hand in real close to her face examining it until she’s nearly cross-eyed. “Hey wait! I did that! OMG, I have hands!” It’s so cute.

Her vision is getting much better now too so she’s recognizing us and smiling so much. It’s so amazing to see the look of confusion when your daughter wakes up turn to happiness when she sees your face. There is no better feeling in the world than knowing that just your being there can make this little angel so happy. I’m the luckiest person in the world. The only down side is that it makes you never want to be away. It’s not the wanting part that’s the downside but the fact that you have to that stings a little.

Little by little all of her developmental milestones happen and come with the consequences of the bittersweet fact that she’s getting bigger. Every step of growing she takes is a step of not being so dependent on mommy anymore. My separation anxiety can barely take it but it seems like whenever I fret over it she gives me something to be happy about in its place. Little exchanges that make it easier and encourage mommy too. Thank you for that God.

It was a big step having her go from sleeping on my chest to sleeping in her swing right next to me on the couch. After weeks of sleeping on the couch then it was hard to put her to sleep in her portable crib in our room. But then she started talking and noticing her hands after that so I could put it in the back of mind. Now I can listen as she talks herself to sleep and smile from the bed at how cute she is knowing that she’s okay and that this is good for her.

On the days I’m off I can’t justify not holding her. Like, I’m here to be with her so what’s the point of letting her hang out in her swing when she’s wide awake and I can be holding her and interacting with her? But now she’s started rolling over and talking more so it makes it a little easier to deal with and more fun for me to watch her and play with her in her activity center. NOTE TO SELF: There are benefits to not holding your baby all the time – They actually start to show you the amazing things they’re learning and you won’t see that if you don’t put them down once in a while.

One thing remains unchanged though – It was hard to get things done when I spent the whole day holding her and napping with her. Now it’s still just as hard to get things done when I’m spending all the time I’m not holding her just staring at her waiting for the next big thing she’ll start doing so I don’t miss it.

About stephrader

I am a new mom who went from managing a fast paced legal office to the 24/7 lifestyle of a stay-at-home-mom. I am inspired by everything and writing has always been my outlet. I love that each day offers something new, exciting, breathtaking, philosophical, tasty, funny and yes, sometimes even sad. Check out my blog 'The Write Side of Life'.

Leave a Reply

