Karma

Standard

After giving my notice on Wednesday I spent the day Thursday contemplating when my last day would be. Well, and enjoying my baby and the fact that soon I’ll be spending every day with her. My husband and family kept telling me to just not go back and let them figure everything out. I am a big believer in karma though. I don’t want to screw anyone over even if they did me wrong because I don’t want that on my conscience. I wouldn’t be screwing over the right people anyway by not going back. Plus I don’t want to burn any bridges because who knows that the future might bring. You are only a victim of your own actions. Do right and you will be alright. The only ones you should worry about getting even with are those that have helped you. Karma will take care of the others.

After discussing it with my husband, who has been waking up at 4:00 am to go to work earlier on the days I work so he can pick the baby up earlier and at least get home before dark after the commute, he said he’ll gladly go back to his normal schedule and get to sleep a couple more hours in the mornings. Plus he’d rather not keep spending all this money in gas if we don’t need to.  We had pretty much been breaking even in my pay with me only working three days a week and after paying the gas and babysitter. It was only temporary though. I planned to work my way back up to five days a week and knew I just needed to be patient. Apparently after 11 years of service, they couldn’t be patient. They couldn’t realize that in the meantime my working three days a week was only benefitting them at this point. So once they made the decision the take things away from my pay it didn’t add up anymore and I wasn’t going to pay to work. My husband was right. I needed to just get this over with as soon as possible and get on with our lives. If I meant so little to them there was no sense in our suffering to continue to help them out at this point. Part of me felt that I should at least get a proper send off though after this many years and hoped they’d at least considered that. But, after my “welcome back party” that consisted of everyone eating their free pizza in their offices alone I figured I shouldn’t hold my breath.

The whole situation just makes me angry. Bitter. Resentful. How people can plot while you’re gone and somehow blemish an otherwise beautiful, amazing time in my life with their drama. I have to swallow these thoughts and let go of these feelings though because they are the poison of life and my life is just beginning a new happy time. Nothing should interfere with that. Let go and let God…and karma.  I have to just get on with my life as quickly as possible. So I decided I would give them  a few more days just until my work had all been transferred. But since I would only be working a few hours each day I wasn’t going to be driving two hours to do it and making my husband get up at 4:00 am to get off in time to do the same. The simple fact of the matter is, I’ll do right for the situation but this situation is only coming as the result of “The Minion” (see prior post) trying to screw me over and the owners trying to take advantage of me.

Karma is one of those inescapable things. A good illustration of karma is what the office was like Friday when I went in and explained to The Minion that we decided I needed to just try to get this over with as soon as possible. It’s not like I was cutting out, I mean most people give two weeks. That’s pretty much what they’re getting. So her huffing and puffing and attitude toward me was a little tacky. Her slamming things and storming around the office the rest of the day was just humorous though. I don’t like the feeling that I am leaving them with more work because I know it is also more work for the people that are already overworked and underpaid like me. But I had to fight back the smile because all I kept thinking was, “Here you were plotting how to screw me over with the owner while I was out thinking that I would just take it and you could look good to them and then your plan backfired and I decided not to tolerate it and now you are realizing the amount of work this is going to result in for you”. She is guilty of not thinking things through very well with everything so I guess she should probably get used to things backfiring on her since she’s now going to be managing the place too. If you don’t think things through very carefully this is the chance you take.  If you stick your nose in a situation and try to meddle this is the chance you take. If you make suggestions that you know will effect someone else’s life negatively, this is the chance you take. Karma is only a bitch if you are.

About stephrader

I am a new mom who went from managing a fast paced legal office to the 24/7 lifestyle of a stay-at-home-mom. I am inspired by everything and writing has always been my outlet. I love that each day offers something new, exciting, breathtaking, philosophical, tasty, funny and yes, sometimes even sad. Check out my blog 'The Write Side of Life'.

Leave a Reply

