Daily Archives: March 21, 2013

Cheeese!

Standard

I just realized this week that I only have a week and a half until Easter. Easter for us before was always just driving from one place to another, spending time with family and eating too much. It just dawned on me that this is no longer the case. We now have a baby – and a new requirement to officially “celebrate” all holiday traditions. And for Easter that means a cute flowery Easter dress, Spring pictures, an Easter basket and a trip to the mall for that classic Easter bunny picture.

I haven’t been in a mall for quite a while. I avoid them at all costs actually. I’m a shopaholic and I hate crowds anyway. It always only leads to one thing – me getting pissed off with people and just rush-buying things to get the hell out of there. It’s been so long since I’ve been at the mall during any holiday that I nearly forgot about the Easter Bunny and Santa pictures that are now going to be a part of our lives.

The baby was exceptionally awake last night. She did not want to go to sleep at all. It doesn’t help that my back is killing me this week too and all I wanted to do was lay flat. I stayed up with her after until midnight when she finally went down. The up side to this is that I woke her up at 7:45 this morning so she (and I) got a nice big chunk of beauty rest for our pictures. The down side: I can’t move this morning. I literally screamed when I bent down to pick her up out of bed. Great.

Our pictures are today. First stop the dreaded mall to meet the Easter Bunny for the first time. Next stop the family portrait studio with several outfit changes. More milestones. More firsts. I can’t wait! Hopefully the pictures turn out great…You never what you’re going to get with babies.  I already know what the route to the pictures will be like and I’ll be easy to spot. I’ll be the crippled one.

Cheeeeese!