Back Breaking Beginning

Standard

Not such a great start to the first days of the rest of our lives. With Friday being my last day at work I was ready to wake up fresh Saturday morning and embrace this new phase of our lives. Friday was my grandmother’s birthday. After leaving there though my back was really giving me trouble. It only got worse from there. Needless to say it’s been a very trying four days since then. My back issue escalated into me being totally out of commission by Saturday morning. Like literally couldn’t even walk or even stand up. Getting out of bed someone walking by would have thought I was having a baby naturally again. And with a two month old baby? Talk about complicated!

Another big issue is not wanting to or being able to take any pain meds. My theory on that is that they don’t help you get better at all – they just mask the pain long enough to trick you into thinking you’re better and then you go doing the very things that got you into trouble in the first place and when the numbness wears off your worse and so, of course, then you need more pills. No wonder people are addicted to them. The other negative is that you can’t really take pain meds while breastfeeding without drugging your baby. If I went through all the trouble of a natural childbirth for the very same reason why would I renege on that now?

Thank God for family that could help out. Between my grandmother, uncle, sister, mother and husband we were able to make it through the weekend and past two days managing the baby, the house and food. I am blessed but I feel totally helpless and that’s not a feeling I’m used to admitting or that I can appreciate much. I have such a hard time asking for help from anyone so it’s pretty bad when your mother has to dry you off from a bath because you can’t. My pride is nonexistent at this point. On the positive side, at least I can wipe my own ass. It’s a small victory that I can have that small piece of dignity left.

After surviving the weekend I was able to get in to a chiropractor first thing Monday morning and got some crutches from my grandmother. They at least get me mobile if I push down on them hard enough to take the weight off my leg. I can manage a few steps that way though my armpits are killing me now. The chiropractor predicts either a badly bulging disk or fully blown one in my lower back and pinched sciatic nerve.  We’ll be getting an MRI to determine exactly what we’re dealing with but in the meantime, he’s got me in all sorts of contraptions trying to realign my spine and space my vertebrae out to free the nerve up a bit so I can walk. The disk itself is painful but nothing compared to the nerve issue having me incapacitated and sending shooting pains down my leg. My muscles are all so inflamed around the injured area too that it doesn’t help.  After two days back to back at the chiropractor though I can at least sit and nurse without crying the whole time. I’ve got bruised hips from the kneading he did on my knotted muscles but it’s a slight improvement so I’ll take it.

I’ll be visiting the chiropractor every day an hopefully by the weekend I will be able to at least walk on my own. We’ve got lots of Easters to attend this weekend and it’s going to really suck if I’m hurting like this the whole time. Worse case scenario I’ll be wearing a bunny costume to accommodate my walking on all fours!

 

About stephrader

I am a new mom who went from managing a fast paced legal office to the 24/7 lifestyle of a stay-at-home-mom. I am inspired by everything and writing has always been my outlet. I love that each day offers something new, exciting, breathtaking, philosophical, tasty, funny and yes, sometimes even sad. Check out my blog 'The Write Side of Life'.

Leave a Reply

