Vampires & Aliens

Standard

Stephanie Meyer’s new movie The Host is now in theaters. In case I haven’t mentioned it before I’m a total Twihard – as in complete obsessed with the Twilight Saga. I read all the books in four days and proudly display live-sized Edward and Jacob cardboard cutouts in my house. Have seen all the movies – several times and the soundtracks for each of the movies are still what’s in my disc changer in my car.

So now this new movie is coming out and they are playing it up because it’s based on a book by the same author. Yet strangely enough it’s just a little too farfetched to me. Vampires? Sure why not. Aliens? No, not so much. It’s weird – especially when you think that there’s actually a better chance that aliens exist than vampires. I’ve just never really been on the whole alien trip. If there is life out there I just always envision the goofy-eyed big headed weird ones and not some sexy being. I’ll probably still end up seeing the movie but at the end of the day I’ll stand by my decision: It’s vampires over aliens for me.

Historically women have always swooned over the eternally romantic, always perfect, never  aging vampires from films and TV series. We’ve got our True Blood and Vampire Diaries hotties, the Twilight hunks, and way before that, our eye candy from The Lost Boys and Interview With a Vampire. The list goes on and on. When I think of aliens the only thing that comes to mind is E.T., Alf, and Starman (who I never really found attractive). I’m sure there’s more but, like I said, they just don’t do it for me. If I could have Mork or Edward Cullen, I’m going Cullen all day, every day, for eternity over that nanu-nanu crap.

I had a coworker once that called in sick because she had been abducted by aliens. We all laughed about the story and how she probably just drank or smoked a little too much the night before but the girl was serious as a heart attack. Hearing all her recollections of her abduction in the years I worked with her made me a little skeptical of just how sane she was. Yet, you get me on a Twilight kick and I could go on and on about how there’s a vampire out ready to impregnate me with his half human, half vampire baby before turning me so we could live forever as  a happy little family. Yes I know that they’re not real and that whole scenario isn’t going to happen but it doesn’t lessen my obsession much. I realize now that there’s a whole slew of people that would scratch their heads at me too. Funny how that works.

From vampires to aliens to steamy romance novels or Star Wars followers I guess the moral of the story is that, even when we think someone else is crazy over something ridiculous, we all have a little something that makes us tick that’s just as equally farfetched. What’s yours?

https://www.facebook.com/TheWriteSideOfLife

One response »

  1. Pingback: 100 Things | The Write Side of Life

Leave a Reply

