Guilty Pleasures

Standard

It was a big joke when, after reading the 50 Shades of Grey series, I came up pregnant. Yes, I apparently am part of the baby boom referred to as the “Shades of Grey Babies”. I always thought the whole Harlequin novel obsession was funny but after becoming totally obsessed with Twilight and then getting caught up in the much more mature Shades of Grey, I get it now. Those damn books are addicting. I guess really it’s just books in general. I love to read. But anytime I can easily picture the characters I can easily get lost in the pages – no matter how farfetched the story may be (Ahem. Such as timeless, glittering, lovestruck vampires or young, beautiful, love hungry billionaires). Throw in a modern fairytale, love story – risqué or innocent – and I’m hooked.

After finishing the 50 Shades of Grey series and being disappointed that it was over (as per usual when I finish a book), I stumbled upon the Crossfire series in my Kindle recommendations. I read the first two in a couple days and was upset when I found out the third wouldn’t be available for months. I had almost forgotten all about it until last week when the third one that I had preordered was downloaded to my Kindle. Surprise! The only trouble was, having a baby made it a little difficult to find time to read. Hell, I’m part of a book club and still hadn’t been able to get started on our latest selection either. But, once you’re invested in a series, you can’t abandon ship. So I made time around the baby’s naps and when she had fallen asleep for the night and was able to finish it in a few days. Now I’m back to waiting for the next installment to be released…only this time there’s not even a projected date or title or ability to preorder like last time. Had this happened before the baby I’d be going stir crazy and throwing myself into a great depression waiting to get back to the characters and their too-good-to-be-true plot. Good thing I’ve got my hands full here so I can pass the time easily!

So there, now you know – Aside from actually keeping up with the Kardashians (I know, I hate to admit it but I can’t help it), the Twilight, 50 Shades and Crossfire romance novels are my other guilty pleasure. Anyone care to share theirs?

Guilty Pleasures

Guilty Pleasures

Leave a Reply

