The First Day of Fall

Standard

It’s officially my favorite time of the year. Fall. When the sultry summer weather gives way to the crisp mornings and the warm beautiful colors that only autumn brings. The season of harvest. When mother nature shows us the best that she’s kept tucked away all year. When the earth explodes with so much beauty like the grand finale of a fireworks display. And I don’t know when we’ve ever had such a text book entrance to autumn either – With a last giant rainfall to prepare for the drought, brisk nights, damp mornings with a chill and daily highs only reaching the low seventies. It’s the season of campfires and hoodies; when the rush of summer slows to a peace where the sun shines brighter but not longer and just begs you to cuddle closer in the night and enjoy the mornings draped in your coziest afghan with your favorite cup of tea. The trees become a work of art and hearty mums and pumpkins decorate front door steps. What is not to love about the fall?

"I'm so glad I live in a  world where there are Octobers" -LM Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers” -LM Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

"Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower" - Albert Camus

“Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower” – Albert Camus

"Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns." - George Eliot

“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.” – George Eliot

"Autumn…the year's last, loveliest smile." - William Cullen Bryant

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.” – William Cullen Bryant

On the social media scene? Follow The Write Side of Life on Facebook for more!

Leave a Reply

