Fall in Full Swing

Standard

It was a fall celebration this weekend in our house. We started off by making some fun crafts with Adri and her cousin. Because the only thing that’s better than seasonal crafting is seasonal crafting with baby hands and feet. 🙂

Boo! Crafting with baby feet. :)

Boo! Crafting with baby feet. 🙂

They were creeptastically cute…

Eek! Crafting with 9 month old curious baby hands  - a little more complex.

Eek! Crafting with 9 month old curious baby hands – a little more complex.

Our finished works of art…

My nephew is obsessed with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles so his ghost even had a costume. How cute :)

My nephew is obsessed with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles so his ghost even had a costume. How cute 🙂

And it wouldn’t be fall without homemade caramel apples and apple cider!

Mmmm....Delicious sticky crisp goodness

Mmmm….Delicious sticky crisp goodness

Our crafting took a little longer than expected so the pumpkin painting and carving had to be rescheduled. I’m still on the fence with how I wanted to decorate my little tulip’s first jack-o-lantern anyway so that’ll give me a few more days to mull it over.

After a successful day of fall crafting Saturday I felt kitchen ambitious Sunday and determined to shatter my baking fear. For anyone that knows me knows that my cooking style is not very “technical”. I rarely follow any exact recipes and so baking has never been an area I’m very comfortable in because of the whole “baking is a science” thing. The only pie I’ve ever made other than no-bakes is pumpkin. To finish the weekend off I wanted to prove to myself that I could bake something amazing from scratch and also something that tasted like the fall. I had some extra pumpkin from the pie I made last week and decided pumpkin muffins sounded good. Well let me tell you, there were good. They were Tony the Tiger “Greeeeat” in fact. Then I kicked their tastiness up a notch and added a spiced apple cream cheese filling and an apple cider glaze. Delicious I tell ya! I even made them wearing a handmade apron. Yeah, I’m pretty sure Martha Stewart would be proud. 🙂 I had to send a dish of them with The Hub to work today because the only downside to having 3 dozen of these things in the house is that he and I would binge on them until every last crumb was gone and, well, that just would be counterproductive to our weight loss progress now wouldn’t it?

A cupcake without icing is a muffin and muffins are healthy. You're welcome. :)

A cupcake without icing is a muffin and muffins are healthy. You’re welcome. 🙂

Yes, the season is in full swing. The leaves are changing and falling from the trees. The weather forecast says the overnight freezing temps are only days away. It’s a beautiful day though. The birds sound especially happy singing in the trees this morning; Celebrating the sun. They must know the frost is coming this week.

Enjoy your week everyone!

 

 

Hey Twitterverse: Follow me!

And stop by The Write Side of Life’s Facebook page for more daily fun! 🙂

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Sweet (Jesus, It’s) November | The Write Side of Life

  2. Pingback: One Year | The Write Side of Life

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin, Pinwheels & Pigskin | The Write Side of Life

  4. Pingback: Christmas Crafts with the Kids | The Write Side of Life

Leave a Reply

