Christmases & Blessings A’Plenty

Standard

This year is Adriana’s first Christmas and we have 9 Christmases altogether. Needless to say holidays are usually busy for us and involve lots of traveling around. We spent the first with my step-father in the Smoky Mountains where it was beautiful and more like spring than winter. We had our Christmas with the baby on Christmas Eve morning followed by my grandmother’s, The Hub’s grandmother, and step-father’s family and Christmas Day at his mother’s followed by her family, then his father’s and finally one with my mother.

It was 77 degrees in The Smokies while we were there and yet was still alive with Christmas

It was 77 degrees in The Smokies while we were there and yet was still alive with Christmas

I have to say, as cute as it has been so far watching our little girl open her first Christmas gifts ever, I realize more and more (and more especially now) that it’s all that you have that money just can’t buy that are the greatest gifts of all. Our budget was much tighter this year but, all things considered, we’ve ended up with so much more than ever before. God has blessed me with a beautiful, happy and healthy baby girl who radiates the purest joy. I have a husband who both challenges and supports me every day and who even when I want to scream at I love with the deepest part of my heart. I have a family that believes in me and encourages me in all things.  My home is modest but it’s more than I’ve ever had and is a product of our hard work and I know it will only get better from here. I am humble and appreciative and I have an unbreakable faith in a God who gives me reason to rejoice and be thankful every single day…yes, even when things don’t go as planned.

Even raining it was magical

Even raining it was magical

It’s hard to believe the new year will be here in a week. I both look forward to all the new firsts we get to experience and also wish time wasn’t seeming to move so fast. In a few short weeks my baby is going to be a year old!!

One final Christmas craft with the baby. It's hard to believe these little fingers are going to be a year old in just a few weeks!

One final Christmas craft with the baby. It’s hard to believe these little fingers are going to be a year old in just a few weeks!

But for the here and now it’s still 2013 and even more importantly than that, it’s Christmas. It’s the season of peace, love, and joy. Faith, hope and wonder. Giving and appreciating all that you have received. Sometimes your white Christmas ends up being an unexpected and even rainy spring break. Sometimes that silver lining is actually a golden shower. Sometimes the hardest challenges turn out to be the biggest blessings in disguise. And no matter how dark it is, there is always a bright side. This is what I’m reminded of during the holidays. I hope that you find that in your holiday season and I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and more blessings than you can count in the coming new year.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a Reply

