Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits with Coconut Oil

Standard

 

 

 

Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits by The Write Side of Life

Homemade Buttermilk Biscuits by The Write Side of Life

I’ve been fearing one thing in my attempt to befriend baking of late….Biscuits. As anyone who knows will tell you, there is not much better than a perfect and airy hot biscuit right out of the oven with some jam. Unfortunately the last time I tried making homemade biscuits they were more like hockey pucks…well, I wouldn’t even give their rise that much credit. They were flat, dense rocks – Heavy and totally unappetizing. You could have completely soaked them in jam and they still would have been garbage. So it goes without saying that I have been pretty scared to dive into that pool again.

But I did.

Last night.

The Hub has been working weekends and we haven’t been able to sit down and have breakfast as a family for a while. So I thought it would be nice to take a stab at some homemade buttermilk biscuits that he could grab have before he leaves in the morning. So I got to work. There are so many things you have to remember when working with pastries or doughs – coldness is key, don’t overwork the dough, etc etc. And here’s the kicker: I made my own buttermilk too with lemon juice and apple cider vinegar and I used coconut oil instead of butter or lard. The Hub cautioned me against trying my own recipe when I hadn’t mastered the basic recipe yet. I worried he may be right but decided it was worth the gamble. I had already failed miserably at biscuits so it couldn’t get any worse right? Besides, if I was wrong I’d only be out some flour anyway and if I succeeded I could be the wicked genius that concocted them. (Muahahaha!) Well…it worked….they rose!

THEY ROSE!

Hallelujah! Praise Jesus! He rose and so did my biscuits!!

They rose and they weren’t just fluffy and light they tasted amazing. We had to remind ourselves that we were just sampling and that they were for breakfast this morning so we didn’t eat them all. The Hub said they were the best he’s ever had.

My faith in biscuits: Restored.

Homemade Buttermilk Biscuit with Coconut Oil Recipe by The Write Side of Life

Homemade Buttermilk Biscuit with Coconut Oil Recipe by The Write Side of Life

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

