Daddy Gratitude

Standard

Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there – the ones who love the kids of their own and the ones with a big enough heart to love the kids of another. Anyone can be a father but it takes a special person to be a dad.

I have been blessed to have several serve as father figures in my life (and a mother who sometimes had to be both parents) and I am eternally grateful – To God who gave me life and continues to bless that life; To Opa who gave everything to make sure I didn’t feel like I was missing anything growing up, teaching me that practice makes perfect and to never give up. Oh and also for teaching me how to filet a fish perfectly…which came in handy yesterday 🙂 He is missed every single day. To my stepdad who stepped in and took over a job that my real father couldn’t do and always tried to treat me like one of his own brats growing up. From father-daughter dances, to slalom skiing and Disney vacations. And my other stepdad who is a terrific man, father, PaPa and just one of the kindest men I know.

My daughter is lucky to have so many great men in her life too – her grandpas and uncles and most of all, her daddy. I am blessed that my daughter has the best daddy in the world who works hard for his family and always finds ways to spoil his girls. From our kitchen dance-offs to tea parties or just a nap together on the recliner, he has embraced it all and genuinely loves being a daddy. And we sure love him.

Happy Father’s Day!

Children look up to you;  Make sure you give them something to look up for.  -Stephanie Rader, The Write Side of Life

Children look up to you;
Make sure you give them something to look up for.
-Stephanie Rader, The Write Side of Life

 

Leave a Reply

